lantau-route-map.png
route2-en-pui-o.png
route2-en-cheung-sha.png
route2-en-tong-fuk.png
route2-en-shui-hau.png
route2-en-title.png

Lantau Eco-Tour: Route 2

Introduction of Pui O

Pui O, also called Bui O, is located on the east coast of Lantau Island. There is a rich diversity of habitats in Pui O such as freshwater wetlands, rivers, and mangroves. The residents used to rely on the farming industry, however, the farming industry declined, and many farmlands were left uncultivated in the 70s. With the help of the buffalos, the untended farmlands have become freshwater wetlands.

According to the Approved South Lantau Coast Outline Zoning Plan Np. S/SLC/21, a large area of Pui O is classified as the Coastal Protection Area where landfilling and ground excavation without a permit is forbidden. However, Pui O is still suffering from the filling of mud and construction waste and the Planning Department does not have the power to enforce the law as Pui O is not covered by the Development Permission Area Plan. Buffalos and other animals suffer a great risk of losing their habitat due to fly-tipping activities.

Pui O Habitat
Freshwater Wetlands

Buffalos eat weed and plough soil on the untended farmlands, gradually turning it into freshwater wetlands. They also step holes in the wetlands which turn into puddles after raining, providing a nurturing ground for many amphibians and insects. The insects, in turn, attract many birds to the wetlands for food.

Chinese Bullfrog (Scientific name: Hoplobatrachus chinensis)

The back of the Chinese bullfrog is olive green with many dark spots. It likes to stay in still water such as freshwater wetlands and marshes, or rivers with slow water current. The edible one that is sold in the market is of the same species as the wild one. However, the population of wild Chinese bullfrog drops drastically due to over-catching. The edible one mostly comes from artificial breeding nowadays. The wild one has a deeper colour, more obvious spots and a sharper response than the bred one. Many religious organisations release bred Chinese bullfrog into the wild which may bring deadly diseases and harm the wild group of Chinese bullfrog.

Asian buffalo & Cattle egret (Scientific name: Bubalus bubalis & Bubulcus ibis)

Asian buffalo is the largest wetland mammal in Hong Kong. Only 130 buffalos are left in Hong Kong, 72 of them are in South Lantau. These buffalos used to be used by farmers to help to farm in the fields and were released after the decline of the farming industry in the 70s. Nowadays, Asian buffalos dig holes in the neglected farmland which helps driving the water flow in the marshes. Moreover, the buffalos are heavy enough to cause mud pit, bringing water to deeper clay layer. Therefore, the water inside the farmlands is not evaporated easily and formed freshwater wetlands. The buffalo ecology of Lantau Island was recognized as the “Humanity Value Landscape Heritage” by the International Council of Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS) in 2014.

Cattle egrets can usually be seen together with Asian buffalos. They follow buffaloes to eat the insects that are scared by buffalos and fly. Buffaloes also benefit from cattle egrets eating their parasite, lowering the risk of illness. Therefore, Asian buffaloes and cattle egrets have a mutually beneficial relationship. One interesting thing about cattle egrets is that they grow orange breeding plumages on their heads, necks and backs during their breed season.
 

Rivers

Pui O River passes through the villages in Pui O and flows southward into Pui O Bay. The part opposites to Pui O Lo Wai village is considered as an Ecologically Important Stream by the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department. The water quality of Pui O River is ideal and with little pollution, therefore, it supports the habitation of many flora and fauna, especially aquatic animals.

Barcheek goby (Scientific name: Rhinogobius giurinus)

Barcheek goby is a very common native fish species in Hong Kong. It can be found in upstream and estuary. Their average body length is 7-8 cm. Barcheek goby is carnivorous, mainly prey on aquatic insects, crustaceans, fishes and fish eggs. It is a benthic fish that often lingers on the stones or sands at the bottom of the stream. Barcheek goby is a migratory fish that they migrate to spawn under stones in estuaries and swim back to live in streams. However, barcheek goby can adapt and reproduce in closed freshwater habitats. There are orange stripes on the operculum of the fish gill.

Sharphead sleeper (Scientific name: Eleotris oxycephala)

The sharphead sleeper is a brackish water fish, it usually lives in estuaries and enters the freshwater region when the tide is low. This species is amphidromous fish. The eggs hatch in downstream and then the newborns migrate to estuaries and inner bays to live as plankton. After the juveniles grow, they will become benthic and migrate back to the freshwater area. Sharphead sleeper has a flattened head and back. Its body has a brownish yellow colour which helps it to hide in the mud of the riverbed. It is currently influenced by estuarine pollution and river engineering.

 

Introduction of Cheung Sha

Cheung Sha is located on the south bank of Lantau Island. It has the longest beaches in Hong Kong, Upper Cheung Sha Beach and Lower Cheung Sha Beach, therefore, it has the name Cheung Sha (In Chinese, “Cheung” means long and “Sha” means sand). Nowadays, Cheung Sha still preserves its rural condition with few residents.

Cheung Sha Habitat
Beaches

Upper Cheung Sha Beach is located near the Lower Cheung Sha Beach but they are not continuous with each other. The total length of the two beaches is 3 km. The Upper Cheung Sha Beach is larger than the Lower. Both of them are natural beaches with good water and sand quality, allowing different marine animals to inhabit.

 
 

Introduction of Tong Fuk

Tong Fuk is located on the south coast of Lantau Island. There are several streams pass through Tong Fuk, making it suitable for cultivation.

Tong Fuk Habitat
Rivers

Tong Fuk River is an “Ecologically Important Stream”(EIS) in which many animals are found such as aquatic invertebrates, fishes and dragonflies.

Bee shrimp (Scientific name: Caridina cantonensis)

Caridina cantonensis is a native freshwater shrimp species in Hong Kong. They are small in size and have transparent shells with small dots all over it. They are commonly found in the middle and upper course of the freshwater streams in Hong Kong. They live on stones and dead leaves inside the streams. The eggs of Caridina cantonensis hatch small shrimps directly instead of planktonic larvae. It is because small shrimps can eat algae and organic debris instead of planktonic microorganism, solving the problem of food insufficient in the upper streams. Moreover, small shrimps can grab onto surfaces to avoid being washed away by flash floods, increasing the survival rate of the shrimps.

Target fish (Scientific name: Terapon jarbua)

Target fish is a common species of demersal fishes in Hong Kong. They inhabit in shallow sandy bottoms. The three black stripes on their bodies make concentric circle pattern when seen from above, resembling a target, thus, the name “target fish”. The lowest stripe reaches the middle of the caudal fin. Their dorsal fin has a black blotch. The eggs are guarded by the male. They are omnivorous and feed on fishes, insects, algae, and invertebrates.

Beaches

Tong Fuk Beach is a popular holiday resort in Lantau Island. From Tong Fuk Beach, one can look at Cha Kwo Chau and Shek Kwu Chau. The sand on this beach is black, probably due to the sand containing dark colour mineral debris.

 

Introduction of Shui Hau

Shui Hau is located on the south coast of Lantau Island. It has a sheltered bay called Shui Hau Wan and its intertidal area has many different habitats such as freshwater wetland, mangrove and sandflat, supporting lives of more than 180 species. Recently, Shui Hau Wan has been greatly promoted as one of the clam digging hotspots. Clam digging has turned from the livelihood of fishermen to an extremely popular leisure activity. Due to the opening up of remote coastal areas and the power of the internet, large crowds of visitors gather at Shui Hau Wan to dig clams or other bivalves for fun and self-consumption. These human activities have posed adverse effects to the ecology in Shu Hau Wan.

Shui Hau Habitat
Intertidal Mudflat

Timber storage is a traditional industry in Hong Kong, storing floating timber in the seawater can prevent it from rotting Intertidal mudflat is a kind of wetland located at the boundary between terrestrial and aquatic environments with muddy substratum. They are periodically inundated with seawater at high tide and exposed at low tide. These soft shores are usually found in estuaries and are highly productive habitats. The influx of water from the ocean and river deposit nutritious particles on the mudflat, the surface mud layer is also rich in bacteria and microscopic algae growing in profusion. protect the wood against pests. In the 90s, the contract of the timber storage site in Yam O was terminated due to development of Tung Chung and establishing the new airport. The timber storage industry declined. Nowadays, only a few giant wooden columns for holding the floating timber in the past are left in the shore.

Species in intertidal mudflat of Shui Hau
Asiatic hard clam (Scientific name: Meretrix spp. )

Meretrix is a genus of edible saltwater clams. Different species of Meretrix has different colours and patterns but the shape of their shells are mostly similar to a triangle. Their shells are smooth and shiny. Meretrix spp. are infauna organisms, which are well adapted to burrowing and coping with reduced oxygen concentration. They are filter-feeders. They bury themselves in the mud and protrude their siphon from the mud surface when the tide is high. The suspended particles flow in through the siphon and are filtered by the gills. Meretrix spp. can grow up to 130mm in the past. However, nowadays, Meretrix spp. are becoming fewer and smaller in size due to over-harvesting.

Soldier Crab (Scientific name: Mictyris brevidactylus)

Soldier crabs have collective foraging behaviour. They march in a large group on the mudflat to look for food, resembling army marching, therefore, they are called “soldier crabs”. Soldier crabs are epifauna organisms that live on the surface of the mud, the adult males are often seen foraging on the mud surface at low tide. The juveniles and the females stay in tiny holes in the mudflat and only use their claws to dig the mud for food. Soldier crabs filter the organic matter and algae in the mud. The mud that had been filtered will be piled into a sphere (pseudofaeces) and stacked on the ground.

Intertidal Sand flat

The major habitat in the intertidal zone of Shui Hau is mainly sand flat. It is also the valuable breeding and nursery ground for Chinese horseshoe crabs.  Sand flats are habitats composed of coarse and fine sand and the intensity of the wave is in between that of a beach and a mudflat.

Species in intertidal sand flat of Shui Hau
Chinese horseshoe crab (Scientific name: Tachypleus tridentatus)

There are two species of horseshoe crabs in Hong Kong, Chinese horseshoe crabs and mangrove horseshoe crabs. The cross-section of the tail of Chinese horseshoe crabs is more triangular. The horseshoe crab is a keystone species, playing a critical role in maintaining the structure of an ecological community. The blood of horseshoe crabs can make Limulus Amebocyte Lysate (LAL) which is used as a testing agent for intravenous drugs, vaccines, medical devices free of bacterial contamination. Horseshoe crabs are commonly referred as “living fossils”, however, under urban development and human exploitation, the number of horseshoe crabs has been reducing by 90% between 2002 and 2009, further threatening the population of horseshoe crabs in Hong Kong.

Mangroves

Mangroves serve as spawning and feeding grounds for prawns, crabs and fish; and protect coastlines and stabilize marine ecosystems by preventing soil erosion caused by water currents, strong waves and severe weather conditions. Around the globe, there are 60 mangrove species, and among them, eight species can be found in Hong Kong. They are, Acrostichum aureum, Aegiceras corniculatum, Avicennia marina, Bruguiera gymnorrhiza, Excoecaria agallocha, Heritiera Littoralis, Kandelia obovate and Lumnitzera racemosa. In Shui Hau, 6 out of eight species of mangroves in Hong Kong can be found.

Mangroves are highly adapted to the harsh environment on mudflats, facing fluctuating salinity, anoxic conditions and daily tidal variations. Prop roots and buttress roots help mangroves to anchor on the muddy substratum, with pneumatophores and knee-joints that help roots to breathe in anoxic sediments. Salt excretion from salt glands and developing thick cuticle to reduce water evaporation are strategies utilized by some mangroves species to cope with the saline environment.

Species in mangroves of Shui Hau
Splendid fiddler crab (Scientific name: Paraleptuca splendida)

Male has a very large and reddish orange claw for attracting female or fighting other male. The two claws of female are of similar size. The carapace has black and light blue patterns and the walking legs are reddish orange. Splendid fiddler crabs feed on organic materials in mud and hide in burrow when in danger.

Grey mangrove (Scientific name: Avicennia marina)

The grey mangrove is one of the eight species of mangrove plants. It has aerial roots for breathing in high tide. Its leaves have salt glands for excreting extra salts.

Boulder shore

Semi-exposed and sheltered shores have a gentler gradient with less wave energy, therefore, boulders accumulate on the shore and form a boulder shore.

Species in boulder shore of Shui Hau
Periwinkles (Scientific name: Echinolittorina radiata)

Periwinkles are common tiny snails found in Hong Kong. They can adapt to an adverse environment. They can secrete mucus to attach themselves to the rock surface and close their operculum to avoid over-heat and desiccation. They are herbivores and mainly feed on algae and lichens. Echinolittorina radiata has a greyish-white shell which is nearly spherical. Its shell has a protruding granular and spiral pattern.

Freshwater wetland

Bubalus bubalis (Asian Water Buffalo), the largest terrestrial mammal on wetlands in Hong Kong can be spotted in Shui Hau. The 72 Asian Water Buffalo living on Lantau Island was entitled “Heritage and Landscape as Human Values” titled ‘HONG KONG BOVIDS AS A SHIFTING SYMBOL OF ‘PROGRESS’: Towards protecting Lantau Island’s environments and cultural heritage’ by the ICOMOS. Buffalo helps the water circulation among deep muddy substratum in wetlands and facilitates the formation of freshwater wetland.

lantau-route-map.png
route2-pui-o.png
route2-cheung-sha.png
route2-tong-fuk.png
route2-shui-hau.png
route2-title.png

大嶼山生態遊: 路線二

貝澳簡介

貝澳,又稱杯澳,位於大嶼山的南岸,擁有多元化的生境,例如淡水濕地、溪流和紅樹林。在二次大戰前後,居民主要以務農為生。七十年代經濟轉型,農業日漸式微,水稻田被荒廢,在水牛的幫助下,演變成一大片淡水濕地。

根據《大嶼山南岸分區計劃大綱核准圖編號S/SLC/21》,貝澳的多個地點是「海岸保護區」,不能私自進行填土或挖土工程。貝澳濕地卻長期受傾倒泥頭活動破壞,而規劃署亦因貝澳不在「發展審批地區圖」覆蓋的範圍無權執法。水牛及其他生物的棲息地因傾倒泥頭受到嚴重的威脅。

貝澳生境
淡水濕地

荒廢的農地經水牛吃掉野草及踏鬆泥土後逐漸成為一片淡水濕地。水牛所踏出的洞在雨後會變成水氹,為不少兩棲類及昆蟲提供繁殖地,亦因此吸引了不少鳥類來覓食。

虎紋蛙 (學名: Hoplobatrachus Chinensis)

虎紋蛙,俗稱田雞,背部橄欖綠色,有深色斑點。田雞喜歡待在靜止的水源例如淡水濕地及沼澤,或者水流緩慢的溪流。野生的田雞與食用田雞是同一品種,但因過度捕獵,野生田雞的數量大量減少,現時在街市出售的田雞多為人工繁殖。野生田雞的顏色和斑點比人工繁殖的深色和明顯,反應亦敏捷許多。現時很多宗教團體會放生人工繁殖的田雞,有機會將病毒帶入野生族群,對野生田雞造成危害。

水牛 (學名: Bubalus bubalis) 及 牛背鷺 (學名: Bubulcus ibis)

亞洲水牛是全港最大的陸地哺乳濕地動物,全港只剩大約130頭,其中72頭在南大嶼山。從前農民廣泛以黃牛和水牛作為耕牛,自七十年代起,香港農業式微,耕牛因而遭農民野放。現時,棄耕地因為有水牛在草地上掘洞,有助帶動沼澤地上的水流,加上水牛的重量足以造成泥坑和泥圈,將水分帶到更深層的黏土層,保持水分不容易被蒸發,形成一個淡水濕地。大嶼山的水牛生態已在2014年獲國際古蹟遺址理事會(ICOMOS)承認為「人文價值景觀遺產」,值得我們好好保護。

在水牛身邊很常見到一隻白色的雀鳥——「牛背鷺」。牛背鷺跟在水牛後面是為了吃被水牛嚇到而受驚飛起的昆蟲,而水牛亦會因為牛背鷺啄食寄生蟲而減低生病的風險,所以水牛及牛背鷺有著「互利共生」的關係。有趣的是,牛背鷺在繁殖季的時候,頭、頸及背部會長出橙黃色的繁殖羽。

河流

貝澳河穿過貝澳村落,向南流入貝澳灣,貝澳老圍村對面的一段溪流被漁農自然護理署劃分為具重要生態價值河溪。水質理想,被有機物污染的程度低,能支持不少動植物棲息,特別是水生動物。

子陵吻鰕虎魚 (學名: Rhinogobius giurinus)

香港常見的原生魚類,活躍於溪流上游及河口。體長普遍7-8公分。子陵吻鰕虎魚是肉食性的,捕食水生昆蟲、甲殻類動物、小魚及魚卵。子陵吻鰕虎魚屬於底棲魚類,經常匍匐於溪底的石塊或沙子上。此魚是迴游性魚類,會產卵於河口的石頭下後游回溪流棲息,不過此魚在封閉的淡水生境仍能適應繁衍。鰓蓋部位有橘紅色條紋。

尖頭塘鱧 (學名: Eleotris oxycephala)

尖頭塘鱧是鹹淡水魚類,棲息於河口,潮退時會進入淡水水體覓食。此魚是雙向洄游的魚類,卵在河溪下游孵化,初生魚苗會遷徙到河口及海內灣過浮游生活,隨成長轉營底棲生活及遷回淡水水域。此魚的特徵是頭部至背部扁平,褐黃的身體有保護色的作用,有助牠隱藏於河床的沙泥之中。目前受到河口污染及河道工程的影響。

 

長沙簡介

長沙位於大嶼山南岸,擁有全港最長的沙灘——「上長沙泳灘」及「下長沙泳灘」。因為有陝長的沙灘所以得名長沙。現時長沙仍然保留鄉村狀況,常住人口較少。

長沙生境
沙 灘

上長沙海灘附近是下長沙泳灘,但並非不相連。上長沙海灘的面積較下長沙泳灘大。兩灘全長3公里,是天然海灘,水清沙幼,適合一些海洋生物居住。

 
 

塘福簡介

塘福,舊名塘㙏,位於大嶼山南岸。有幾條小河流經塘福令此地適合耕作。

塘福生境
河流

塘福河是一條「具重要生態價值河溪」,孕育了不少動物,例如:水生無脊椎動物、淡水魚類、兩棲類、蜻蜓及鳥類。

廣東米蝦 (學名: Caridina cantonensis)

廣東米蝦是香港原生的米蝦,體形細小,透明的蝦殻上佈滿斑點。常見於香港淡水溪流中上游,棲息於溪中的石頭枯葉。廣東米蝦的卵會直接孵出幼蝦而非浮游幼體。幼蝦可以直接食藻類或有機碎屑,解決溪流中上游浮游微生物不足的問題,幼蝦亦可抓緊枯葉表面或躲藏起來,以防被山洪沖走。

細鱗鯻 (學名: Terapon jarbua)

細鱗鯻,又名彎紋釘公,是香港常見的底棲魚類,棲息於淺水沙質海底。牠們的軀幹有三條弓形的黑色橫紋,最低的一條直達尾鰭中央。牠們的背鰭上有一個黑色斑點。雄性的細鱗鯻會看守魚卵。牠們是雜食性的魚類,會捕食魚類、昆蟲、藻類和無脊椎動物。

沙灘

塘福泳灘是香港大嶼山的一處假日渡假地點,可眺望茶果洲和石鼓洲。塘福泳灘的沙粒顏色黜黑,可能是因為由海水搬運積聚的礦物碎屑是深色的。

 

水口簡介

水口位於大嶼山南岸,有一個隱蔽的海灣——「水口灣」。潮間帶有多種生境:淡水濕地、紅樹林和沙坪,孕育超過180種物種。近年水口灣被大肆宣傳為摸蜆熱點,摸蜆由過往漁民的生計變成現時十分受歡迎的消遣活動。由於公共交通網絡發展及互聯網的力量,越來越多遊客到水口灣掘蜆及其他貝類,這些人為活動對水口灣的生態環境造成沈重的壓力。

水口生境
潮澗帶泥灘

潮澗帶泥灘是處於陸地與水生環境之間的泥地,也是濕地的一種。潮漲時,泥灘會被海水淹沒;潮退時,泥灘會曝露於空氣之中。泥灘一般能在河口找到,是具有高生產力的棲息地。泥灘的表層泥土含有豐富的細菌及微型藻類,海水和河水亦為表層泥土注入養分。

在水口潮澗帶泥灘的生物
文蛤 (學名 : Meretrix spp. )

文蛤屬的物種都是可食用的蛤蜊。不同文蛤的顏色及斑紋都不一樣﹐但外型都近似三角形﹐而且有平滑光澤的殼。文蛤是底棲生物,善於挖洞及應對低氧環境。文蛤是濾食性的﹐會潛於泥沙中﹐在潮漲時將出入水管伸出泥面﹐水中的懸浮顆粒從出入水管進入通過鰓時,會被過濾下來送進口裏。文蛤過往能長至130mm﹐現時因過度捕捉的關係﹐文蛤的大小和數量已經大不如前。

短指和尚蟹 (學名: Mictyris brevidactylus)

短指和尚蟹外形呈球體﹐像剃頭和尚, 所以叫「和尚蟹」。和尚蟹是表棲生物,即居住在泥表的生物,成年的雄蟹會在潮退時出沒在泥灘集體覓食。幼蟹及雌蟹則會藏在洞中,伸出前螯挖取泥土攝食﹐稱為「隧道式覓食」。和尚蟹會濾食砂泥中的有機物及藻類﹐濾食過的砂泥會被搓成圓形(擬糞)堆放在地上。

沙坪

沙坪是水口潮間帶的主要生境﹐更是馬蹄蟹——中國鱟的重要繁殖地。。沙坪是指就海浪沖刷程度介乎最大浪沙灘至小浪的泥灘之間﹐由粗沙及幼沙組成的生境。

在水口潮澗帶沙坪的生物
馬蹄蟹/中國鱟 (學名: Tachypleus tridentatus)

香港有2種馬蹄蟹——中國鱟和圓尾鱟。中國鱟尾部的橫切面較為三角形。馬蹄蟹被譽為「活化石」,在進化史及生物學上都有極高既價值。馬蹄蟹是一種關鍵物種﹐對保持生態群落的結構起着重要的作用。馬蹄蟹藍色血液的提取物「鱟試劑」被廣泛應用於檢測細菌污染。不過隨著城市發展及捕獲,香港的馬蹄蟹部落受到更大的威脅,研究顯示香港馬蹄蟹的數量在2002至2009大幅減少九成。

紅樹林

紅樹林為岸邊大量不同種類的生物,包括蝦、蟹及魚類提供食物、繁殖地點和覓食的地方;同時保護海岸線,防止因海流、海浪、風雨而產生的海水侵蝕,因而維持岸邊和海洋生態系統的穩定性及生態平衡 。全球擁有超過60種紅樹品種,而在香港能找到其中的8種,分別是鹵蕨、蠟燭果、海欖雌、木欖、海漆、銀葉樹、秋茄、欖李。在水口能找到8種中的6種。

在水口紅樹林的生物
麗彩招潮蟹 (學名: Paraleptuca splendida)

雄蟹的其中一隻螯誇張地大﹐橙紅色的大螯用以求偶或打架。雌蟹則兩螯大小相同。麗彩招潮蟹的背甲上混有黑色和淡藍色相間的斑紋﹐步足橙紅色。麗彩招潮蟹以泥中的有機物為食﹐有危險時會躲進地上的蟹洞。

白骨壤/海欖雌 (學名: Avicennia marina)

白骨壤是香港8種真紅樹的其中一種。白骨壤有露出泥土的通氣根﹐用以儲存空氣,在漲潮時亦可以繼續呼吸。葉片上有鹽腺排出多餘的鹽份,以適應紅樹林這種高鹽度的生境。

石灘

半開敞和屏蔽海岸海浪活動較弱﹐而且地形較平﹐石塊沿海岸堆積, 成為石灘。石灘有時候亦會位於或接近開敝海岸。

在水口石灘的生物
粒結節濱螺 (學名: Echinolittorina radiata)

濱螺是香港常見的細小螺類﹐能適應惡劣的環境。牠們可以分泌黏液依附在岩石上﹐緊閉口蓋﹐防止過熱或脫水。濱螺是素食性的﹐主要食藻類和地衣。粒結節濱螺的殼灰白色﹐近球狀﹐有突出粒狀和螺旋紋。

淡水濕地

在水口亦能見到全港最大型的陸地哺乳類濕地動物—亞洲水牛。大嶼山有72頭亞洲水牛,牠們更獲年獲國際古蹟遺址理事會(ICOMOS)承認為「人文價值景觀遺產」。水牛有助帶動沼澤地的水流,把水分帶到更深層的黏土層,形成一個「慢活水區」,有利於水生植物和魚類生長,慢慢形成既淡水濕地。